top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureleachjuice78

Lucky 13 Interview With Kirsti Wishart

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book?


It’s called The Projectionist and it’s set in Seacrest, a fictional seaside town that’s obsessed with cinema. The 85th Film Festival is about to take place with the famous film critic, Cameron Fletcher as guest of honour which, as he was previously assumed dead or a fictional character, is causing excitement for some and consternation for others. Further info can be found here but it features grand old picture houses, underground swimming pools, American diners, lots of neon and cameo appearances from Orson Welles, Jack Nicholson and an angry parrot called Stanley.


2 – Are you a plotter or a panster?


A bit of both. I won’t start a novel unless I have a clear idea of the beginning and the end and some set-pieces to fill in the middle that I know I’ll enjoy writing (as I write around a full-time job, enjoyment is an important motivation). But I find the difference between planning a novel and drafting one equivalent to that between looking at the map of a city and then going on a weekend break there. You might have plotted out one particular route but you’ll notice a cobbled side-lane or that intriguing taxidermy shop and wander off for an unexpected adventure. So yes, enough planning so I don’t lose my way but enough freedom to make interesting diversions.


3 – Savoury or sweet?


If it’s snacks in front of the tv, usually savoury but if you’re asking about pudding then always.


4 – Three books to a desert Island. Go!


As I’m a big fan of cities, I’d have to take along Ben Katchor’s Cheap Novelties. He’s not that well-known over here but he creates these fantastic, surreal-tinged comic strips about the ephemera of urban life and would help me feel as if I was still wandering busy streets. Emile Zola’s The Ladies’ Paradise set in a mid-nineteenth Parisian department store is both an excellent critique and celebration of the business of shopping and features the most magnificent description of a glove display you’re ever likely to read. And F. Scott Fitzgerald’s The Great Gatsby as we read it at High School and I’ve re-visited it at various points in my life ever since, getting something new out of it every time (that and it’s short).


5 – Star Wars or Star Trek?


Dr Who...?


6 – If you could have any superpower, what would it be?


Funnily enough, I’ve written a novel about that, sort of. The Pocketbook Guide to Scottish Superheroes about certain members of the Scottish population developing superpowers and others developing ‘Abilities’ that aren’t much use like turning ceramic objects into piles of instant coffee or being able to walk through the walls of public buildings after hours. I discovered a whole new respect for the likes of Stan Lee as making up superheroes is really hard. But probably flying as it would save me the cost of a bus/tram pass.


7 – Music or Silence when writing?


Background café noise or music of a very particular type, preferably without lyrics and along minimalist lines like Steve Reich or John Adams or some computer game music by Winifred Philips written specifically to help with concentration. I’ve recently been writing to the Night Waves series on BBC Sounds, the perfect atmospheric accompaniment and a great way of discovering new artists.


8 – If you could live anywhere in the world, and take everything that you love with you, where would you choose?


As mentioned above, I do love a good city so it would have to New York which I think Truman Capote described as ‘the citiest city in the world.’ Or Paris. Living in Edinburgh I’d often gone to other places and thought, ‘Well, it’s quite nice but it doesn’t have a castle or a volcano in it, does it?’ And then I went to Paris where everything is casually beautiful and there seems to be a random carousel around most corners.


9 - Your favourite karaoke song?


I’ve never been to karaoke, probably because I know I’d find myself singing ‘Wuthering Heights’ along with interpretative dance moves and never living it down.


10 – One piece of advice to an aspiring writer?


Don’t spend years and years fretting about whether or not you’re good enough, just get on with it! That and focus on the process of writing itself rather than worrying about the product. This business is a fickle one and the only part you’re in control of is the ‘making stuff up’ bit when you’re sitting with your notebook, phone or laptop and your limitless imagination for company. That part is completely yours so enjoy it.


11 – You win £1 million, but you must give half to charity. Which charity do you chose, and what do you do with the rest of the money?


My partner’s niece, Betty, was born over four months premature, weighing just over a pound. The incredible work done by Alder Hey Children’s Hospital means that she’s now a thriving four year old so half the money would have to go there so they can carry on performing miracles. The other half would go towards buying somewhere remote up North with decent central heating and soothing sea views to act as a writing retreat for myself, friends and anyone else who wanted to come along and recover from the past two years.


12 – Horror films, yes or no? If so, any favourites?


Maybe? I am not a fan at all of gore being a bit of a fainter (I once collapsed in a cinema due to a particular scene in Highlander 2 which I didn’t watch, the sound-effects alone enough to make me keel over. And yes, you did read that right, Highlander 2…not sure if the related shame is because I’m such a wimp or having bought a ticket to see it). I do, however, like a good psychological/paranormal horror like the Conjuring series, The Babadook or Midsommar mainly because they’ll have some excellent odd, surreal imagery whilst The Shining is the best, most accurate film about writing ever. And Ben Wheatley’s Kill List is a work of absolute genius, along with his Sightseers and A Field in England.


13 - What are you currently working on?


A novel called The Hedgewitch and the Burryman which actually has folk horror elements to it. I’ve been working on it for years with a significant lockdown related slow-down so am now at the stage of just wanting it done. Wish me luck!


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lucky 13 Interview With Natalie Marlow

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Needless Alley is a literary noir set in 1930s Birmingham. My detective is William Garrett who, unlike Philip Marlowe, only takes on d

Lucky 13 Interview with J.M Simpson

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? My current book is ‘Sea Shaken’, which is the third in the Castleby series. The Castleby series came about when I set my debut suspens

Lucky 13 Interview with Alexandra Benedict

1. Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Murder on the Christmas Express (out November 10th from Simon & Schuster) is a contemporary tribute to Agatha Christie’s classic and ta

bottom of page