top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureleachjuice78

Lucky 13 Interview with J.M Simpson

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book?


My current book is ‘Sea Shaken’, which is the third in the Castleby series. The Castleby series came about when I set my debut suspense thriller ‘Sea State’ in a coastal town (inspired by Tenby), against the backdrop of the local lifeboat crew. Once I’d finished Sea State the characters pretty much insisted I continue on and write more, and the ideas kept coming! It’s out on Amazon in e book, paperback and unlimited.

The blurb is;


All is not well in Castleby. Jesse Stevens lies in a coma after being pulled off a cliff by a psychopath who escaped from prison to find her. He is in hiding, also hurt from the fall, but fuelled with rage. He needs to make sure she’s dead. If she isn’t, he’ll finish the job once and for all.

Military Intelligence Officer, Sam Jones, missing presumed dead, returns from Afghanistan after two years of brutal torture in captivity. Struggling to cope, Sam has no desire to carry on living, or return to family life, with his wife, Sophie, and son, Marcus. Sophie is desperate to help Sam recover and leans heavily on her friend and ex-forces soldier Foxy for support.

Castleby is plagued by a series of unexplained deaths among the elderly and that of a local fisherman. Inspector Steve Miller works closely with the new local GP, Kate Cooper, to try and find an explanation and they eventually uncover the sinister truth.


Intrigue, drama, suspense and a hint of romance continue in the third of the Castleby Series.


2 – Are you a plotter or a panster?


I’m mainly a panster – although I start with a rough idea of a couple of things I want to happen and then the rest just unfolds as I write. I have absolutely no idea how it happens, but it does. It always surprises me. Then I’m a bit of a ‘fillerer’ as when I’ve finished I do a little bit of papering over various cracks and filling in holes; but I think we all do that.


3 – Savoury or sweet?


Probably savoury, I adore cheese etc. Although saying that I can’t fully comprehend or accept a life without Tunnocks products....


4 – Three books to a desert Island. Go!


This is a really tough, like picking a fave film or your most favourite child! I’m sure folk pick some high brow literary fiction for this question, but I like to keep it simple (some literary fiction is a bit like difficult jazz to me). So…

1. David Baldacci – One Summer. This gives a glimmer of hope when all is perceived as being lost with a loved one. It makes you wonder whether miracles can actually happen.

2. Pillars of the Earth – Ken Follet. Not usually a fan of historical fiction but I read this at a pivotal time in my life so in my view, it’s an epic book with epic storytelling. (Plus, it’s incredibly long).

3. A Dictionary (is that allowed?) – If I’m going to stuck on a desert island I’d want something to keep the grey matter going, I can try and expand my mind (or alternatively, they are pretty thick so I could use the pages to light fires).


5 – Star Wars or Star Trek?


Star Wars I think (although… I did love Chris Pine /Simon Pegg in Star Trek remakes).


6 – If you could have any superpower, what would it be?


The ability to speak or understand any language.


7 – Music or Silence when writing?


Mainly silence. I mostly tune everything out so have no idea whether anything is on or not most of the time. If I write in café’s etc, it’s fatal as I spend most of my time listening to other people’s conversations, storing them away and turning them into characters to use at a later date.


8 – If you could live anywhere in the world, and take everything that you love with you, where would you choose?


Another tough one! There is so much of the world I haven’t gotten around to seeing yet. It has to be said though, I love where I live, Tunbridge Wells is gorgeous. But! I love the Scottish Highlands, (mountains pines and water are a joy to behold), but then I love the Devon and Cornish coast because I grew up down there, so I am completely in a dither and can’t possibly decide. I’d love a place overlooking South Beach in Tenby – but I would only visit when there’s no one there so I much prefer it in the winter months when the wind and the sea are raging, and the pubs are warm!


9 - Your favourite karaoke song?


Living on a prayer - Bon Jovi OR Sweet child of mine - Guns N' Roses. (I have a variety of optional lyrics depending on alcohol intake and I genuinely really can’t sing).

(Family car karaoke is pretty much always Hotel California – The Eagles, or Bohemian Rhapsody - Queen).


10 – One piece of advice to an aspiring writer?


If you love it, keep at it; develop huge levels of resilience and never give it up.


11 – You win £1 million, but you must give half to charity. Which charity do you chose, and what do you do with the rest of the money?


I’d choose a bunch of charities to give the money too. I’d keep them small because too often donations for larger charities are lost in the massive overheads. A few local homeless charities and some small dog rescue charities, both my Border Collies are rescues, so charities that deal with Collies particularly (which are challenging dogs if you don’t understand them) are always in need.

The rest of the money, I’d give to friends and family that are in need, maybe pay off boring stuff like the mortgage and maybe take the family on a pretty awesome holiday before the girls get too old to want to come with us.


12 – Horror films, yes or no? If so, any favourites?


No. My imagination is way too active; I’d frighten myself stupid at every turn. When I was growing up, we used to live in an old Victorian girls school (it had been converted into a house/business) and we were all certain it had a resident ghost. I used to terrify myself stupid when I was home alone, so if I watched horror movies with a regularity I know I’d be terrified at every turn. My sister snuck me in to see The Hitcher years ago when I was far too young, and it scared the absolute beejesus out of me. I still can’t watch it.


13 - What are you currently working on?


Lots of stuff! I’ve just started editing the 4th in the Castleby series to be released in Spring this year. I’ve also just finished a standalone ‘summer read’ which is a thriller set in Bude, Cornwall, which explores the concept of children being ‘bought’ by rich families and I’ve just started toying with a ‘Christmas’ standalone novel for Christmas 23. Plus, more books in the Castleby and also the Scottish series (which I am trying to find a home for!) It’s all go here, plus there’s the day job too!

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lucky 13 Interview With Natalie Marlow

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Needless Alley is a literary noir set in 1930s Birmingham. My detective is William Garrett who, unlike Philip Marlowe, only takes on d

Lucky 13 Interview with Alexandra Benedict

1. Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Murder on the Christmas Express (out November 10th from Simon & Schuster) is a contemporary tribute to Agatha Christie’s classic and ta

Lucky 13 Interview With Essie Fox

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? I'm a very slow writer, and my latest published book - The Last Days of Leda Grey - came out in 2017 and was selected as The Sunday Ti

bottom of page