top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureleachjuice78

Lucky 13 Interview With Natalie Marlow

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book?


Needless Alley is a literary noir set in 1930s Birmingham. My detective is William Garrett who, unlike Philip Marlowe, only takes on divorce cases. He’s what Raymond Chandler would’ve called ‘a grubby little man in a hotel corridor’. These men gathered photographic evidence of adultery for the divorce court. When William falls in love with a woman he’s meant to be tailing (the wife of a leading fascist), all hell breaks loose in noirish fashion!


2 – Are you a plotter or a panster?


I completely pantsed the first draft of Needless Alley. Then, I had to rewrite it, superimposing a tight plot. I learnt the hard way that plotting and pacing are key to a successful crime narrative.


3 – Savoury or sweet?


Ooh! Hard question. May I have some cheese on toast please, Matthew?


4 – Three books to a desert Island. Go!


Jane Eyre, The Big Sleep, Gaudy Night, The End of the Affair, Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy.


5 – Star Wars or Star Trek?


Star Trek Next Generation. Make it so, number one.


6 – If you could have any superpower, what would it be?


Invisibility.


7 – Music or Silence when writing?


Coffee shop clatter and chatter.


8 – If you could live anywhere in the world, and take everything that you love with you, where would you choose?


New York in 1935


9 - Your favourite karaoke song?


Gypsies, Tramps and Thieves by Cher


10 – One piece of advice to an aspiring writer?


Finish your work in progress and then don’t look at it for a month, or more if you’re very self-disciplined. The distance is invaluable when it comes to editing.


11 – You win £1 million, but you must give half to charity. Which charity do you chose, and what do you do with the rest of the money?


I would give £500,000 to Shelter. I would be very sensible with the rest! Boringly, I’d squirrel away most in savings accounts both for my kids and for a rainy day. I’d send my mum and dad on a nice, fancy OAP holiday once a year. Then, I’d blow a few thousand on a trip to Burgh Island (the art deco hotel where And Then There Were None was set).


12 – Horror films, yes or no? If so, any favourites?


A qualified yes. I love a James Whale pre-code horror film from 1932 called The Old Dark House. It’s superb and based on Benighted by J B Priestley. I also love the Gothic end of noir, particularly Jacques Tourneur films. Night of the Demon is a favourite, as is Cat People and I walked with a Zombie. Yes, I am an old film nerd.


13 - What are you currently working on?


I’m working on my second William Garrett novel. It’s called The Red Hollow, and I can’t tell you too much more!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lucky 13 Interview with J.M Simpson

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? My current book is ‘Sea Shaken’, which is the third in the Castleby series. The Castleby series came about when I set my debut suspens

Lucky 13 Interview with Alexandra Benedict

1. Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Murder on the Christmas Express (out November 10th from Simon & Schuster) is a contemporary tribute to Agatha Christie’s classic and ta

Lucky 13 Interview With Essie Fox

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? I'm a very slow writer, and my latest published book - The Last Days of Leda Grey - came out in 2017 and was selected as The Sunday Ti

bottom of page