top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureleachjuice78

Lucky 13 Interview With Drew Gummerson

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book?


It’s Seven Nights at the Flamingo Hotel and is published by a new indie publisher based in Derbyshire. Seven Nights follows seven nights, and days, in the life of a dishwasher at the Flamingo Hotel. It’s been compared to On the Buses, Bukowski, Adrian Mole, Camus, Brautigan, Ann Quin. It’s written in the second person. It’s a bit rude apparently. But then aren’t we all? On the quiet.


2 – Are you a plotter or a panster?


Panster, definitely! I started Flamingo Hotel just with our hero waking up in the hotel room where he lived. I had no idea where I was going with it. I wrote it on my phone. I wrote dozens of episodes then spent the rest of forever putting them together.


3 – Savoury or sweet?


I’ve changed. Used to be sweet. Now savoury.


4 – Three books to a desert Island. Go!


Don Quixote. It was my dad’s favourite book. I read it a few years ago and loved it.


Berg by Ann Quin. This was a recent read but it blew me away. And it’s the kind of thing I could read again and again.


The Stories of Raymond Carver. Back in the day everyone was reading Carver. I don’t feel that so much now. Still. He’s a god.


5 – Star Wars or Star Trek?


I like both. Although people tend to get a bit serious over Star Wars. So Star Trek.


6 – If you could have any superpower, what would it be?


Kuper, the hero of the novella I’m editing dreams of being able to stop time. And if you’ve read Nicholson Baker’s Fermata then you might want this power too… The power to stop any more superhero movies?


7 – Music or Silence when writing?


Silence.


8 – If you could live anywhere in the world, and take everything that you love with you, where would you choose?


Scotland, on the coast somewhere. With global warming I’ll be in my Speedos all year round before you know it.


9 - Your favourite karaoke song?


One that someone else sings while I’m at the bar. I used to live in Japan. I’ve been involved in more karaoke than any human being needs.


10 – One piece of advice to an aspiring writer?


Enjoy it. i.e. don’t do it for the money.


11 – You win £1 million, but you must give half to charity. Which charity do you chose, and what do you do with the rest of the money?


A charity to do with dogs. Set up my own? And I’d use the other half to bring about answer 8. So there I am in Scotland. On the beach. In Speedos. With many dozens of charity dogs. A perfect life.


12 – Horror films, yes or no? If so, any favourites?


No. Definitely not. But Psycho, The Shining, Rosemary’s Baby.


13 - What are you currently working on?


Editing a novella that was once a novel. It’s gone from 110,000 to 35,000 words. Stripped of all its subplots and meanderings it’s a sleek thing now. I do like a novella. Perfect to fit in when you’ve got so many dogs to look after, beaches to walk along.

99 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lucky 13 Interview With Natalie Marlow

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Needless Alley is a literary noir set in 1930s Birmingham. My detective is William Garrett who, unlike Philip Marlowe, only takes on d

Lucky 13 Interview with J.M Simpson

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? My current book is ‘Sea Shaken’, which is the third in the Castleby series. The Castleby series came about when I set my debut suspens

Lucky 13 Interview with Alexandra Benedict

1. Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Murder on the Christmas Express (out November 10th from Simon & Schuster) is a contemporary tribute to Agatha Christie’s classic and ta

bottom of page