top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureleachjuice78

Lucky 13 Interview With Tom Hindle

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book?


A Fatal Crossing is a murder mystery, set on board a 1920s cruise liner. I set out to write something that would act as a homage to the golden age of detective fiction, so if you imagine a mash-up of Agatha Christie and Titanic, you’re probably thinking along the right lines.

The book starts with our two heroes, a ship’s officer and a Scotland Yard detective on his way to America, setting out to investigate when the body of a passenger is found on deck. With the trail quickly leading to a stolen painting and a host of colourful suspects, the two detectives have just a matter of days to uncover the truth, before the ship docks and the culprit escapes into New York.


2 – Are you a plotter or a panster?


I always try to be a plotter, but tend to end up being a pantser. I’ll plan my books out in detail, but there’s inevitably going to be something that just doesn’t work as you thought it would. It could be to do with pacing, the tone or even a plot hole that goes unnoticed until you get down to actually writing it all up.

The approach I’m trying to take now, as well as writing a treatment and bullet-pointing my plot in as much detail as I can beforehand, is to essentially look at my entire first draft as something of a glorified plan.


3 – Savoury or sweet?


My gut reaction would be to say sweet, as any day that goes by without consuming some form of chocolate feels like a hardship. But when I stop and think about the foods that I genuinely wouldn’t be able to live without, they’re all savoury. So savoury, I guess!


4 – Three books to a desert Island. Go!


The first would be The Hound of the Baskervilles. I’m fascinated by the paranormal and the supernatural, but I’m also someone who thrives on logic. I like there to be a real, tangible explanation to a mystery, and Conan-Doyle gives us exactly that. We get to enjoy a terrifying story about a spectral hound that stalks the moors, while at the same time following an investigation that provides all the satisfaction a good detective story should; a killer unmasked, a sinister plot revealed and every loose end neatly tied up. It’s just perfect.


The second would have to be Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz. Not only is it ingenious, but it was the book that actually inspired me to finally have a go at writing up A Fatal Crossing. It was a perfect example of how a modern writer could approach a golden age mystery, in a way that really appeals to a modern audience. It’s pretty special to me.


The third would probably be The Woman in Black, by Susan Hill, as I listen to the audiobook every Christmas. People are often surprised by that, so I have to explain that it begins on Christmas Eve, with the narrator, Arthur Kipps, recounting his terrifying experiences with the titular woman to his family. But whether or not you agree with me that it’s a Christmas story, there’s so much about this book that I love, and that I aspire to weave into my own writing. Hill’s use of language is beautiful, the sense of atmosphere that she conjures is impeccable and the story itself is as chilling as it is tragic.


5 – Star Wars or Star Trek?


Star Wars, definitely. I have a lot of time for Star Trek, and I’ve been particularly enjoying the most recent series of Star Trek Discovery. But when you’re up against the franchise that introduced lightsabres to the world, you just can’t win.


6 – If you could have any superpower, what would it be?


If you’d asked me a few years ago, I’d have told you I’d like to read minds, so I could go to Vegas and clean up at the poker tables. Nowadays, I’d love the ability to manipulate time in some way. There just never seems to be enough time in the day. To be able to stop it for a moment, or even slow it down, would be the best.


7 – Music or Silence when writing?


Silence. I love music, but I’m so easily distracted. Even if it’s a genre I don’t enjoy, if there’s music playing while I’m trying to work, I have to stop and listen to it.


8 – If you could live anywhere in the world, and take everything that you love with you, where would you choose?


Somewhere by the sea. I adored living in a coastal town while I was at uni and I miss it every day. And somewhere in the UK, because I’m ultimately a home-bird.

The first place that comes to mind is Kingsand, a beautiful little village on the border of Devon and Cornwall. If you ever visit, you’ll actually find a house with an arrow on the wall, marking where one county ends and the other begins. I’d take it with a hearty pinch of salt, of course. But it’s something that tickles me every time I visit.


9 - Your favourite karaoke song?


Summer of ’69 by Bryan Adams.

The high bits are way out of my vocal range, so I butcher it every time I try. But as the greatest song of all time – no, I won’t be taking questions on that – if I’m presented with an opportunity to make people listen to it by singing it in a karaoke bar, you can be sure I’m going to take it.


10 – One piece of advice to an aspiring writer?


Write something. Anything. There’s nothing saying you need to write your book in the order it’ll be read. If working on the scene you’re most excited about helps you to get the ball rolling, even if it’s right at the end, do that. The tricky part is keeping going. I’ve found that having set times during the week for writing is incredibly helpful, especially when trying to fit it in around a busy day job. It gives me something I could use to hold myself to account on the days I struggle.


11 – You win £1 million, but you must give half to charity. Which charity do you chose, and what do you do with the rest of the money?


My charity would have to be Macmillan. Like so many others, we’ve felt the effects of cancer in my family, and the support that Macmillan provided during those difficult times was such a help.

As for the rest, I’d by a house in Kingsand and set myself up there. It’d need to have a view of the sea, an amazing kitchen and a couple of spare rooms, so that we could have friends and family come to stay.


12 – Horror films, yes or no? If so, any favourites?


Yep, I’m a big fan of a horror film. It has to have a great story, though. I’m not interested in anything that turns out to just be a gore-fest.

My favourite film has to be The Exorcist, although I’d like to give a shoutout to Midnight Mass, which dropped on Netflix last year. It’s a series, rather than a film, so I feel as though I might be cheating by including it here, but it was so good that I need to mention it. If you haven’t watched it, try it. If you don’t know anything about it, even better. Go in as blind as you can, and I’ll be amazed if you can predict the places it goes. One of the best things I’ve watched in a long time.


13 - What are you currently working on?


I’m just putting the finishing touches to the first draft of my second book. It’s another murder mystery, with a very golden age feel, but it’s also really quite different to A Fatal Crossing. For one thing, it has a present-day setting. The whole book takes place across one night, at a New Year’s Eve party in a remote part of Devon. It’s early days, but I’m feeling good about it and am very excited for folks to read it – hopefully in the not-too-distant future!

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lucky 13 Interview With Natalie Marlow

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Needless Alley is a literary noir set in 1930s Birmingham. My detective is William Garrett who, unlike Philip Marlowe, only takes on d

Lucky 13 Interview with J.M Simpson

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? My current book is ‘Sea Shaken’, which is the third in the Castleby series. The Castleby series came about when I set my debut suspens

Lucky 13 Interview with Alexandra Benedict

1. Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Murder on the Christmas Express (out November 10th from Simon & Schuster) is a contemporary tribute to Agatha Christie’s classic and ta

bottom of page