top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureleachjuice78

Lucky 13 Interview With Ross Lowe

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book?


Step Forward, Harry Salt is set in or around the present day, in a UK that could be our own but, on closer inspection, is somewhat skewed. It's been described in a recent review as genre-defying, in that "there are Sci-Fi elements, political satire, fantasy, speculative fiction, and magic realism." I think that about covers it genre-wise! As far as the plot goes, it follows the exploits of a young man who lands a new job at a bizarre ministry secreted secretly in the Derbyshire hills. As he uncovers more about his place of employment and what really goes on there, he begins to learn the truth about who he really is, how much of his past is or isn't what he believed it to be, and how he might just be a key figure in big, sinister political events that cross the boundaries of fantasy and the everyday.

There's also a moped called Darren, endless ham baguettes, and a 900-year old Starsky & Hutch addict.

Published by the brilliant Bearded Badger Publishing. 2 – Are you a plotter or a panster?

I dabble a bit in both, if I'm allowed to say that?! Usually there's a rough framework, most often dreamt up in the shower or while walking the dog. Sometimes it even gets written down. Then I launch at it by hammering away at the keyboard and seeing what comes out. 3 – Savoury or sweet?

Savoury. Crisps and crisps and more crisps please, ideally in a nice bowl with a slice of bread and butter and no judgement handy. Thank you. 4 – Three books to a desert Island. Go!

The Dark is Rising Sequence by Susan Cooper (technically one book comprised of five, which isn't cheating but clever)

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

The Fall & Rise of Reginald Perrin by David Nobbs 5 – Star Wars or Star Trek?


Star Trek. I do enjoy Star Wars and think Empire is an amazing film, plus I enjoyed Rogue One from the recent spin-offs, but I always loved the camaraderie of Star Trek, in both the original series and the Next Generation, from an early age. I wanted to be on the Enterprise, which itself is just a beautiful spacecraft, while the Millenium Falcon, as cool as it is, kind of looks like a space prawn with a radar dish on it. But, admittedly, a very, very fast and groovy space prawn. 6 – If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

Flying. Seriously, anyone who says they don't want to have the ability to fly is lying. Also an ability to iron items of clothing simply by thinking "oh, I think I'll wear that today" wouldn't go amiss. 7 – Music or Silence when writing?

9 times out of 10 it would be music, but there have been times (approximately 1 in every 10) where I've been writing for an hour or so before suddenly realising I've been sat working in complete silence all along. 8 – If you could live anywhere in the world, and take everything that you love with you, where would you choose?


Somewhere warm and moist, like Hawaii. 9 - Your favourite karaoke song?

I've got a thing for Common People by Pulp. It's got a nicely theatrical performance element to it, coupled with angsty shouty bits. Mind you, the last time I did my Jarvis impression I was a lot slimmer and could get away with it. Not sure I could pull that off now. 10 – One piece of advice to an aspiring writer?


Keep going and don't edit anything until you get to the end of your first draft. It's so flipping tempting, but if you start to edit bits after you've only put down a few chapters, you find yourself constantly going back on yourself and never getting anywhere. Keep notes on what you feel you need or want to change as you go along, but don't enact them until the first draft is in the bag. 11 – You win £1 million, but you must give half to charity. Which charity do you choose, and what do you do with the rest of the money?


It would have to be the children's renal unit at the Royal Derby Hospital. When I was a little kid, the Derby Children's Hospital (which relocated and merged into the Royal Derby when it was built) looked after me as I had poorly kidneys, and the doctors and staff there were brilliant. They not only did a great job of looking after me, but my Mum too, who always took me there for my appointments and was advocating for her young son. Now I'm a parent, I realise just how important that kind of thing is for parents faced with seeing their children unwell, and of course the NHS needs all the support it can get. With the rest of the money I'd make sure we had somewhere nice to live, before taking my wife, daughter and my Mum on a lovely holiday. Plus I'd buy several packets of Monster Munch with whatever spare change remained. 12 – Horror films, yes or no? If so, any favourites?

Yes. I love ones that mess with your head a bit, like The Shining. Some of that cinematography, where you can't quite see everything at first glance, leaving your brain to do a horrible job of filling in the gaps, is just brilliant. Also, does Get Out count as a horror film? That was brilliant too.

13 - What are you currently working on?

There is a sequel to Step Forward Harry Salt on the go, but I became a dad 10 months ago and have not had nearly as much time to write as I would like, because I now have this amazing daughter who I want to spend every single second with, while my wife and I both have busy jobs too. On top of all that, we're about to move back to the UK from Germany, so the new book is in stasis for the time being as we barely have time to sleep let alone be awake. I've managed to bash out a few short stories to keep my hand in as it were, but again not that many. I share my short stories in a brilliant writing community called ABCTales.com, which is a wonderful place where I've made some great and very talented friends over the last couple of years. A very cool, supportive and encouraging place, that.

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lucky 13 Interview With Natalie Marlow

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Needless Alley is a literary noir set in 1930s Birmingham. My detective is William Garrett who, unlike Philip Marlowe, only takes on d

Lucky 13 Interview with J.M Simpson

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? My current book is ‘Sea Shaken’, which is the third in the Castleby series. The Castleby series came about when I set my debut suspens

Lucky 13 Interview with Alexandra Benedict

1. Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Murder on the Christmas Express (out November 10th from Simon & Schuster) is a contemporary tribute to Agatha Christie’s classic and ta

bottom of page