top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureleachjuice78

Lucky 13 Interview With Lora Davies

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book?


Daughter Of The Shipwreck is a historical page-turner set in Georgian London. It follows a young Black woman, Mercy, whose life is turned upside down when she discovers hidden secrets from her past. It is about family, identity and risking everything to find who you truly are. 2 – Are you a plotter or a panster?


Definitely a plotter! I like to know the main thrust of the story before I begin and will often have the end already written in my head before I write the first sentence. Saying that, I do enjoy it when the story goes rogue - when the characters take you places that you hadn't planned to go. But I always start with a clear idea even if it then changes along the way. 3 – Savoury or sweet?


Savoury! I am addicted to hummus. 4 – Three books to a desert Island. Go!


Ooh - that's a tricky one! The House On The Strand by Daphne Du Maurier because I can read it again and again and never get bored of it. Strange Stories and Amazing Facts which is a Reader's Digest book I used to pore over as a child, it is ginormous and full of fascinating tales from all over the world. Finally, I would have to go for the complete works of Shakespeare - there's something there for every mood you might find yourself in and I can see myself acting out all the parts, alone on my desert island. 5 – Star Wars or Star Trek?


Are they different? :) Alright then, I'll go for Star Trek as it has more of a sense of humour. 6 – If you could have any superpower, what would it be?


To talk to the animals - or rather to understand and be understood by them. That would be quite something. 7 – Music or Silence when writing?


Silence when writing, absolutely. Music when editing (as long as it has no lyrics). 8 – If you could live anywhere in the world, and take everything that you love with you, where would you choose?


A Mediterranean island would be nice - maybe Sicily or Crete. Great food, amazing weather, fascinating history and the sea all around. Perfect.

9 - Your favourite karaoke song?


Fairytale of New York by The Pogues 10 – One piece of advice to an aspiring writer?


Read, read and read some more! Read everything you can get your hands on. I believe that's the best way to learn to write and to learn what kind of writer you want to be. 11 – You win £1 million, but you must give half to charity.

Which charity do you chose, and what do you do with the rest of the money?

Half to Friends Of The Earth and half to buy a house by the sea in Wales with a bit of land so I can start an animal sanctuary/writing retreat.

12 – Horror films, yes or no? If so, any favourites?


No way! I walked out of the film, Scream, after about five minutes as I was so petrified.

13 - What are you currently working on?

I am working on my second novel, which is due out in January 2022, published by Bookouture. Set in the 1840s, with Britain on the brink of the steam age, the novel depicts the burgeoning and unlikely relationship between a railway engineer and a farmer's widow. As they plan their future together, secrets from both their pasts threaten to destroy everything they have.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lucky 13 Interview With Natalie Marlow

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Needless Alley is a literary noir set in 1930s Birmingham. My detective is William Garrett who, unlike Philip Marlowe, only takes on d

Lucky 13 Interview with J.M Simpson

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? My current book is ‘Sea Shaken’, which is the third in the Castleby series. The Castleby series came about when I set my debut suspens

Lucky 13 Interview with Alexandra Benedict

1. Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Murder on the Christmas Express (out November 10th from Simon & Schuster) is a contemporary tribute to Agatha Christie’s classic and ta

bottom of page