top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureleachjuice78

Lucky 13 Interview with Linda Mather

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book?


The Hanged Man, which is the 4th in the Jo Hughes Detective Series. It was published in August last year. My main character, Jo Hughes, is an astrologer who is also a PI.

2 – Are you a plotter or a panster?

I never thought of myself as a Plotter but all my stories do have a strong plot with plenty of twists so clearly that does take some planning. I don’t plan every detail though and I love it when the story surprises me by taking an unexpected turn. So deep down, I’m a Pantser.

3 – Savoury or sweet?

Defo savoury.

4 – Three books to a desert Island. Go!


The Penguin Encyclopedia

Boat-building for Dummies

SAS Survival Skills

I’m coming home!

5 – Star Wars or Star Trek?

Star Trek, which also gets a mention in my answer below😊

6 – If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

Teleportation! I love travelling and I know everyone says ‘it’s all about the journey’ but just think how many more places I could go if I could just be ‘beamed down’.

7 – Music or Silence when writing?

Usually silence but I do have a playlist called Writing Heaven which I sometimes play. It includes the theme tune to Inspector Morse, which always puts me in the right mood for writing crime fiction. Any songs have to be without any meaningful words because lyrics draw me in to other stories.

8 – If you could live anywhere in the world, and take everything that you love with you, where would you choose?

I loved living on the south coast in England and really enjoyed writing about Bournemouth, which is the setting for the next book. Much as I love Worcestershire, where I now live, I do miss the coast so maybe somewhere in Dorset, England.

9 - Your favourite karaoke song?

‘Grenade’ by Bruno Mars.

10 – One piece of advice to an aspiring writer?

Believe in your own ideas and your own work. Don’t be put off if people say ‘oh that’s been done before’ because you will bring your own style and experience to your work. Persevere and keep believing!

11 – You win £1 million, but you must give half to charity. Which charity do you chose, and what do you do with the rest of the money?

This is the hardest question. I choose the Deaf Society as the charity as my mum was deaf. As for the rest, maybe I’d buy that writer’s retreat by the coast in Dorset so I could drive down there for solitary weekends just writing.

12 – Horror films, yes or no? If so, any favourites?

Not really but I love a ghost story eg The Woman in Black. Does that count?

13 - What are you currently working on?


I have just completed book 6 of the Jo Hughes series and I’ve learned it’s best to have a break so I’m giving myself a Creative Holiday for a few weeks. But I have started a short story…

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lucky 13 Interview With Natalie Marlow

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Needless Alley is a literary noir set in 1930s Birmingham. My detective is William Garrett who, unlike Philip Marlowe, only takes on d

Lucky 13 Interview with J.M Simpson

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? My current book is ‘Sea Shaken’, which is the third in the Castleby series. The Castleby series came about when I set my debut suspens

Lucky 13 Interview with Alexandra Benedict

1. Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Murder on the Christmas Express (out November 10th from Simon & Schuster) is a contemporary tribute to Agatha Christie’s classic and ta

bottom of page