top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureleachjuice78

Lucky 13 Interview With Jonathan Whitelaw

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book?

My new book - Death Do They Part - is the final Parker Sisters mystery. When their mother dies after a hit-and-run, the Parker sisters vow to catch the driver. But things take a sudden turn for the far, far worse when bodies start disappearing from the city morgue—their mother's included. With their relationship already strained, Martha, Helen and Geri must unite to foil the crimes of the darkest of international black markets. And bring justice to those who have hurt them and their loved one so badly.


2 – Are you a plotter or a panster?

I'm a bit of both if I'm honest. I don't like to plan TOO much in advance. I like to have the giddy thrill and open-endedness that means the story can change, the characters, the subplots etc all have that flexability.

That said, when you write crime you always have to have steady grip on what's going to happen in the end. But I swear by the old adage, it's not the destination, it's the journey.

3 – Savoury or sweet?

Savoury, always. I am the honourable exception in my close and extended families of NOT having a sweet tooth. Far from it in fact. And I've drawn MORE than my fair share of ire down the years when I've said I don't like sweets, chocolate or even birthday cake. Yes, I'm a monster, I know.


4 – Three books to a desert Island. Go!

Treasure Island by RLS - seems only appropriate and I've always loved it as a story.

The Talented Mr Ripley - Patricia Highsmith - I only just got around to reading this last year and instantly fell in love. Witty, pithy, clever and fun.

Boy - Roald Dahl - The first book I remember reading over and over again when I was in primary school.


5 – Star Wars or Star Trek?

Star Wars, no competition. I started my writing journey when I was about 7 when I would go on holiday. I wasn't allowed to take my Star Wars action figures, so I would write stories for when I got home and acted them out. I'm old enough to remember the 90s lull of content and it seems strange that there's new Star Wars media every year now. Spoiled for choice.

I should also say that I've always had a soft spot for Star Trek too. I'm a Picard man, as opposed to Kirk. Again, I know I'm a monster.


6 – If you could have any superpower, what would it be?

To be in two places at once. Not so much for fighting crime, more so I can be more efficient and to actually get things done. It's the curse of being a full time journalist and writer. There's a wonderful scene near the start of Watchmen where Dr Manhatten is doing some clever science stuff but he's split into multiple people. I'd take that.


7 – Music or Silence when writing?

This is a tricky one as it's a bit of both. I'm a big music fan and listen to a LOT all of the time. Rock, country, you name it. And I'm always open to suggestion.

For writing though, I tend to flip between having something with no lyrics - classical, instrumental pieces etc and nothing. When it comes to editing, however, I'll stick on a classical playlist and just let it happen all around me. I was gifted a rather lovely set of noise cancelling headphones for Christmas and they've been a great addition to the process.


8 – If you could live anywhere in the world, and take everything that you love with you, where would you choose?

Rome. What a city, what a place. I've been lucky enough to visit the city multiple times over the years, including on my honeymoon. There are very few, if any other, places in the world that ooze history at every street corner. And it's across the centuries, like a little microcosm of human development from pre-history to the present day. A truly magical place.


9 - Your favourite karaoke song?

This is a controversial one as my favourite karaoke song is a track that I actually despise. Achey Breaky Heart by Billy Ray Cyrus. I was traumatised by the sheer popularity of the song when it first came out - and the sudden urge everyone had to take up line dancing.

It's also a really BAD song. Yet somehow, in a punishment befitting the Olympian Gods, any and every time I go to karoke, I'm forced to sing it.


10 – One piece of advice to an aspiring writer?

Educate yourself in this business - because it is a business. You have to be professional. Learn your craft and learn who and what publishers and agents are looking for if you want to have a career in this industry.

11 – You win £1 million, but you must give half to charity. Which charity do you chose, and what do you do with the rest of the money?


The Samaritans have always been a very close and dear charity to me. As a journalist, I've had the unfortunate experience of doing a lot of stories that have ended in tragedy. And I've always made a concerted effort to work with charities like the Samaritans to make sure we tell the story in the most sensitive way possible. Raising awareness of these types of campaigns and charities has always been a big motivator for my journalism work. And I'd be delighted to gift them that cash.

12 – Horror films, yes or no? If so, any favourites?

A no for me I'm afraid. Mostly because I'm the biggest cowardly custard you are ever likely to meet. Seriously, I DETEST jump scares. However, I'm a big cinema fan and I give horror movies their place and why they are so popular. So if I had to pick my favourite, it would probably be Alien.


13 - What are you currently working on?

The first of my new series - The Bingo Hall Detectives - will be released in April from HarperNorth. I'm delighted to be able to bring these new stories out with what's been such a dedicated and fantastic publisher.

Here's the blurb:

Jason Brazel is an out of work journalist who lives in Penrith with his family and mother-in-law, Amita. She knows everyone and everything that’s going on in this corner of the Lakes. So when it’s discovered that Madeline Frobisher, one of Amita’s fellow regulars at the bingo club has died, found by the postman outside her crumbling country home close to Ullswater Lake, she senses immediately this is no accident. The trouble is, no one else seems to take her suspicions seriously. That is, until she enlists the help of her friends at the Penrith Bingo Club. Dismissed by many as eccentric, over the hill or out of touch, it turns out that it’s unlucky for some that these amateur sleuths are on the case…

Beyond that I'll be working on its follow up.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lucky 13 Interview With Natalie Marlow

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Needless Alley is a literary noir set in 1930s Birmingham. My detective is William Garrett who, unlike Philip Marlowe, only takes on d

Lucky 13 Interview with J.M Simpson

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? My current book is ‘Sea Shaken’, which is the third in the Castleby series. The Castleby series came about when I set my debut suspens

Lucky 13 Interview with Alexandra Benedict

1. Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Murder on the Christmas Express (out November 10th from Simon & Schuster) is a contemporary tribute to Agatha Christie’s classic and ta

bottom of page