top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureleachjuice78

Lucky 13 Interview with Heather Fitt

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book?


A Scottish journalist enters a dark online world in this unsettling novel of men, women, resentment, and rage...

Edinburgh reporter Frankie has finally been assigned a high-profile crime story about a series of sexual assaults, and relishes her big break. Her article focuses on the issue of women’s safety, which doesn’t seem to have improved much since the era of the Yorkshire Ripper.

When she faces a torrent of abuse online, it leads her to discover the phenomenon of incels— and puts her in the sights of those trying to stop her covering the story. But she refuses to back down. What she doesn’t realise is that in this murky online world, one man is being goaded into a spectacular and shocking attack with Frankie as his main target...



2 – Are you a plotter or a panster?


I’m a pantser to begin with and then as I get more into the book, I start to plan a little bit more. From around halfway I almost always know where I’m going, if not exactly how to get there. Halfway is where I become aware things need to be tied up and make sense. Having said that, I’m not a slave to a plan, I find it too restrictive if I don’t allow my characters to do whatever it is they want.


3 – Savoury or sweet?


Savoury! Cheese mainly if I’m honest!


4 – Three books to a desert Island. Go!


The Power of One by Bryce Courtenay

An Agatha Christie Collection (yes, I know that’s cheating!)

A Time to Kill by John Grisham

(This was REALLY hard!)


5 – Star Wars or Star Trek?


I don’t really like either of them. That’s me just lost a load of readers, isn’t it?!


6 – If you could have any superpower, what would it be?


I think my superpower would have to be enhanced hearing. I love people watching – see also, nosey – and there are times were I would LOVE to hear what they're talking about based on their body language.


7 – Music or Silence when writing?


Piano music oddly enough. I can’t remember how I came across it, but for some reason it just works for me.


8 – If you could live anywhere in the world, and take everything that you love with you, where would you choose?


Barbados. I’ve been lucky enough to visit there twice recently and the entire way of life over there suits me perfectly. I would have the most amazing opportunity to write and be very relaxed about the whole thing.


9 - Your favourite karaoke song?


I’m pretty much banned from singing karaoke by family – my singing is that bad! I remember watching Dumbo with my niece when she was around 3 or 4 and we were singing along. After a few minutes she turned to me and said, “You don’t need to sing, Aunty Heather.” I think that says it all!


10 – One piece of advice to an aspiring writer?


Write whatever it is you want to write.

People will have lots of advice for you and will say things like, “write what you know”, but at the end of the day, if you’re not happy with what you’re writing, it will suck the joy out of it.


11 – You win £1 million, but you must give half to charity. Which charity do you chose, and what do you do with the rest of the money?


I would give half to a cancer charity. Far too many friends and family have been affected and knowing I was doing my bit would mean everything. The rest of it… well, right not I would have to say, buy a house – although probably not with all of it. I would definitely spend some of it to travel on the Orient Express to Venice – that’s a big dream of mine.


12 – Horror films, yes or no? If so, any favourites?


YES! Although it has been a while since I watched any. I was a huge lover of the Scream franchise as a teenager, and slasher movies in general actually.


13 - What are you currently working on?


Not working on anything at the moment. Although I do have plans for a third book, which I’m going to start writing in June or July.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lucky 13 Interview With Natalie Marlow

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Needless Alley is a literary noir set in 1930s Birmingham. My detective is William Garrett who, unlike Philip Marlowe, only takes on d

Lucky 13 Interview with J.M Simpson

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? My current book is ‘Sea Shaken’, which is the third in the Castleby series. The Castleby series came about when I set my debut suspens

Lucky 13 Interview with Alexandra Benedict

1. Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Murder on the Christmas Express (out November 10th from Simon & Schuster) is a contemporary tribute to Agatha Christie’s classic and ta

bottom of page