top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureleachjuice78

Lucky 13 Interview With Elizabeth Baines

1 - Can you start by telling us a little about your current book?


My latest novel, Astral Travel, was published in November. It’s the story of a complicated and troubled Irishman, told from more than one viewpoint, but overall by his daughter who is trying (unsuccessfully) to write a novel about him. It’s about the difficulty of sometimes knowing the truth about anyone – especially when there are big secrets being kept – and about the slipperiness of storytelling and, ultimately, its redemptive power.


2 - Are you a plotter or a panster?


Well, I can’t start without the security of knowing at least vaguely where I’m going, but I do also write to explore, and it’s the element of surprise that keeps me going, so that initial ‘plan’ is often subject to much change.


3 - Savoury or sweet?


Oh, bittersweet! That’s how I like my novels (both mine and other people’s) and my dark chocolate!


4 - Three books to a desert island


Well, a survival manual obviously. Something to keep my mind sharp – a collection of philosophy essays. And something with lots of stories to keep my creative juices running: say, The Canterbury Tales.


5 - Star Wars or Star Trek?


Hm. Hard to say. Star Wars seems to me to deal with bigger, more excitingly ambitious themes – goodness versus evil for instance, alternative realities – but I do have a nostalgic fondness for those early Star Trek episodes.


6 - If you could have a superpower, what would it be?


Time travel – both backwards and forwards. It’s what writers do all the time, in a way; how great it would be to do it for real!


7 - Music or silence when writing?


Silence, definitely. Writing for me has a soundtrack of its own, with which music would clash.


8 - If you could live anywhere in the world, and take everything you love with you, where would you choose?


This poses an existential problem! I love travelling, and I love Italy and Ireland in particular, but I everything I hold dear is intrinsic to the places where I live my life, Manchester and north Wales – the specific cultural life, those specific mountains – so not transportable! In other words, I love being and writing where I am most of the time.


9 - Your favourite karaoke song?


Do you know, I’ve never done karaoke, but it’s something I’d jump at if the opportunity arose! Dancing Queen!


10 - One piece of advice to an aspiring writer?


Keep at it. Don’t let rejection discourage you, but learn from it. Write and write again.


11 - You win £1 million, but you must give half to charity. Which charity do you choose, and what do you do with the rest of the money?


I’d give half to Shelter, definitely. The rest would make my children more secure than young people can be in the present economic situation.


12 - Horror films, yes or no?


A qualified yes. There’s too much real-life horror to use it for cheap thrills. But if a film conveys the social and psychological reality of horror, then yes. Rosemary’s Baby will stay with me forever.


13 - What are you currently working on?


Lockdown put the dampers on writing for me, but now that it’s become the new normal I’m able to think creatively again. I’m putting the finishing touches to a new collection of short stories, and I’ve got the idea for a new novel brewing.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lucky 13 Interview With Natalie Marlow

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Needless Alley is a literary noir set in 1930s Birmingham. My detective is William Garrett who, unlike Philip Marlowe, only takes on d

Lucky 13 Interview with J.M Simpson

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? My current book is ‘Sea Shaken’, which is the third in the Castleby series. The Castleby series came about when I set my debut suspens

Lucky 13 Interview with Alexandra Benedict

1. Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Murder on the Christmas Express (out November 10th from Simon & Schuster) is a contemporary tribute to Agatha Christie’s classic and ta

bottom of page