top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureleachjuice78

Lucky 13 Interview With Catherine Yardley

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book?


My debut novel, Ember, is out now. It’s had many good reviews from writers I love and admire. The blurb is below.


A family torn apart by their father's infidelity are forced to confront the past thirty years later. As Natalie's younger sister, Amanda, prepares for marriage and impending motherhood, her plea for the family to reunite uncovers pent-up tension and animosity. Can they forget the past and become a family again?


Natalie's life begins to unravel as their father starts to creep back into their lives and family tensions resurface, affecting her relationship with her boyfriend, Rob. Will the couple find their way back to each other, and can a family that has been torn apart ever heal their wounds?


Can you ever walk away from someone you love, or do some fires never die out?


2 – Are you a plotter or a panster?


Panster. For my sins. But I never start until I have a fully realised idea and well developed characters.


3 – Savoury or sweet?


Sweet all the way. It used to be savoury but I have fallen.


4 – Three books to a desert Island. Go!


Shiver by Allie Reynolds, Becoming by Michelle Obama and The Life of Pi by Yann Martel.


5 – Star Wars or Star Trek?


Hard one. The wars, I guess.


6 – If you could have any superpower, what would it be?


I would be able to eat and drink whatever I wanted and always have optimal health.


7 – Music or Silence when writing?


Music. I do my last edits in silence though.


8 – If you could live anywhere in the world, and take everything that you love with you, where would you choose?


New York, California or Washington D.C.


9 - Your favourite karaoke song?


I am a terrible singer but The Winner Takes It All by Abba is a classic.


10 – One piece of advice to an aspiring writer?


Make every rejection make you come back harder. For every no, submit at least two more.


11 – You win £1 million, but you must give half to charity. Which charity do you chose, and what do you do with the rest of the money?


That is such a hard question. I would probably split it amongst a variety of children’s charities and then the rest of it I would be frugal with so I always had a little something.


12 – Horror films, yes or no? If so, any favourites?


Unfortunately not anymore. I’m too much of a wimp. I used to though and I loved Candyman when I was younger. I also love The Walking Dead.


13 - What are you currently working on?


I have written another four novels and a short story collection. I am now writing a twisty murdery thriller that I have had in my head for a while now. It’s very different and I’m excited about it.


The link for the book is here: https://tinyurl.com/2p9fznuv

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lucky 13 Interview With Natalie Marlow

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Needless Alley is a literary noir set in 1930s Birmingham. My detective is William Garrett who, unlike Philip Marlowe, only takes on d

Lucky 13 Interview with J.M Simpson

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? My current book is ‘Sea Shaken’, which is the third in the Castleby series. The Castleby series came about when I set my debut suspens

Lucky 13 Interview with Alexandra Benedict

1. Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Murder on the Christmas Express (out November 10th from Simon & Schuster) is a contemporary tribute to Agatha Christie’s classic and ta

bottom of page