top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureleachjuice78

Lucky 13 Interview with Ann Bloxwich

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book?


My book, 'What Goes Around', is the first in a series featuring DI Alex Peachey. When a woman's body is found behind a social club after a ladies' night, Alex is called back to work from leave when his colleague is taken ill. With a house move imminent and issues with his disabled son, it's the last thing Alex needs. Vicky Wilson had been dating male stripper Ray Diamond, an egotistical, arrogant man, who thinks he's far superior to everyone around him. Ray swears he's being framed, but there are a lot of people who would love to see Ray fall from his pedestal. Does anyone hate him enough to push him? And can Alex catch the killer before they strike again?


2 – Are you a plotter or a panster?


I'm a total pantser! I can come up with a first chapter out of the blue, then have to figure out how to turn it into a story. I have loads of first chapters stored away, ready for me to use. I also have a terrible habit of writing my chapters out of sequence, which creates a lot of work once the book is done. 3 – Savoury or sweet?


I use to be a sweet lover, but I tend to prefer savoury these days. I do have a weakness for caramel though, which is even better if it's the salted variety. 4 – Three books to a desert Island. Go!


Oh blimey, that a tough question! Definitely The October List, by Jeffery Deaver. He's my literary hero, and this one is pure genius. The whole story is told backwards. I'd also take We Begin at the End by Chris Whittaker, which is one of the best books I've ever read. My third book would have to be The Dark Tower by Stephen King. I've had it for years but refuse to read it because I know that once I do, it's the end of that epic series.


5 – Star Wars or Star Trek?


Star Trek. I've seen most of the Star Wars films, but not enough to watch them more than once, and I refused to watch any more after they killed off Han Solo.


6 – If you could have any superpower, what would it be?


The superpower I'd like is to be able to heal any illness. I've lost too many loved ones recently. If I couldn't have that, then I'd choose time travel.

7 – Music or Silence when writing?


I can write in silence, but I prefer not to. I usually listen to Planet Rock, or have a compilation of one of my favourite bands playing on Spotify. I'm a rock chick at heart, but also like classical music, it can be very soothing.

8 – If you could live anywhere in the world, and take everything that you love with you, where would you choose?


We moved to Scotland from the West Midlands four years ago, and I would never want to live anywhere else. We were looking at moving to Yorkshire, then I did a crime writing course in Gretna Green eight years ago, and met so many supportive and friendly people that we decided to move up here instead.


9 - Your favourite karaoke song?


I hate karaoke, I have a terrible singing voice. It doesn't stop me belting out some tunes when I'm on my own though. My poor cats must hate me! If I was forced to choose a karaoke song, I would go with Paranoid by Black Sabbath. I'm fairly confident that I can sing better than Ozzy!

10 – One piece of advice to an aspiring writer?


The best piece of advice I could give to an aspiring writer is to go to as many writing festivals as you can and meet other writers. That's where I first got the courage to start writing, I met loads of authors who were all happy to impart words of wisdom and offer advice.

11 – You win £1 million, but you must give half to charity. Which charity do you chose, and what do you do with the rest of the money?

If I won £1 million, I would give half to Shelter, because I really admire the work they do. I'd buy a house with a library in it, and share whatever was left with my kids.

12 – Horror films, yes or no? If so, any favourites?


I'm a bit of a wimp, so horror films are definitely out.


13 - What are you currently working on?

My current WIP is DI Alex Peachey book 2, provisionally called 'Goodnight, God Bless', and sees Alex hunting for someone who is killing paedophiles, all of whom are linked to women who attend a group for survivors of childhood abuse. I've got a split timeline in this one, so it's proving to be more difficult than I hoped, especially with my habit of writing out of sequence. At the moment, I've got 65k words at the moment and hope to be finished by the end of August.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lucky 13 Interview With Natalie Marlow

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Needless Alley is a literary noir set in 1930s Birmingham. My detective is William Garrett who, unlike Philip Marlowe, only takes on d

Lucky 13 Interview with J.M Simpson

1 – Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? My current book is ‘Sea Shaken’, which is the third in the Castleby series. The Castleby series came about when I set my debut suspens

Lucky 13 Interview with Alexandra Benedict

1. Can you start by telling us a little about your current book? Murder on the Christmas Express (out November 10th from Simon & Schuster) is a contemporary tribute to Agatha Christie’s classic and ta

bottom of page